How do you say goodbye? A book is never just a book.

I’m three quarters done with a wonderful book. Isn’t that just the saddest feeling?  I keep glancing at my tablet from across the room. Oh how I want to know what happens next, but I fear I will finish the book and lose my new friends forever. Do you know what I’m talking about?  That loss? It sounds ridiculous to describe, but it happens every time I read a book I love, which recently has been happening quite often. I finish the last line, close the book, and find myself wondering what the characters are up to now. Delusional, I know. The book I am currently afraid to read is Easily Entertained - Great books - The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey - The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. Highly recommended, although I wasn’t sure I was going to love it…it took me about a fourth of the way in to get hooked, but it had such wonderful reader reviews I kept plugging. So glad I did. I am transported to the wild wonder of a turn of the century Alaska.  What a place.

Before The Snow Child, was Easily Entertained - Great books - Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I did not read a description before I began reading the book, so I had not idea what it would be about. It was so unexpected, fascinating and well done. A Pulitzer prize winner, no wonder.  The content so easily could have been crude and overly explicit, yet it remained tasteful, honest and enlightening.

Prior to Middlesex, I was enjoying Easily Entertained - great books - Life of Pi by Yann Martel The Life of Pi by Yann Martel. While I thought it dragged in bits, I truly enjoyed the tale, and held my breath with thirst and hunger as Pi navigated the salty seas.

Before Life of Pi wasEasily Entertained - great books - Wuthering Heights by emily bronte Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. A classic, I know, but I had never had the pleasure.  I couldn’t put it down. Seriously if you have never read it, do it now.

One last recent favorite for now, Easily Entertained - great books - This is How You Lose Her by junot diaz This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz.  A great read, however not my favorite Diaz book, but still highly recommended. His writing style is phenomenal.  Drown is probably my favorite by him, but The Brief  Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao is also incredible. He is an author not to be missed, and this is yet another one of his masterpieces.

READ THESE BOOKS NOW> and let me know your recommendations…as I will have to kiss the snow child goodbye very soon.

Leave a Reply

