Activities You Can Eat and other DIY party snacks

wm.artpartycookies1So now I’m back to thinking about the upcoming Pinterest shower.  Taylor and I were supposed to get together for round II of the Pinata making, but we had some scheduling conflicts so hopefully we will be able to finish that project up soon. When we do, I will be posting.

As the RSVP’s are filtering in, and I began to get a sense of the number of guests, I started thinking about food. We are not doing a full dinner. Just fun Hors d’oeuvres  and desserts. We are trying to stay as close to the DIY theme as possible, so I have been looking for interactive snacks as well as fun party pickings.

I found these sugar cookies from The Decorated Cookie.com.

wm.artpartycookies3 I just want to draw all over them!  This is a must have.  The same website also has another post all about drawing on food. Worth the read.  One of the marker types recommended were these which I found on amazon.com for $14.49. I pinned these to our Shower pinboard, and Taylor was all over them too. I know they are going to impress.

Okay, so call me a dork, but when I came across these button cookies at One Charming Party, my heart started racing.  I love them.

Directions: Slice a store-bought log of sugar cookie dough into quarter-inch rounds. Place on parchment-lined cookie sheet, and bake according to package instructions. Remove from oven and let set for two minutes. Using an over-sized straw, cut two or four holes in the center of the cooling cookies. Continue to cool and serve.

However, my plan is to take this up a notch — I want to use Twizzlers Pull and Peel to thread them! Do you see it? I’m so souped about this – though fully aware this may not happen as I imagine it. But I will let you know how this experiment turns out.  One Charming Party also has free printable labels you can download, I will probably make my own though.

I’m still on the hunt for food that doubles as activities, here are some more cute options I found that might work.

These guys squeak for themselves.

Taylor found these brill apps.  Caprese Salad + pop = (WTF) YUM

I mean, we have to, right?

Perhaps I am Kebab obsessed these days….but I love the Strawberry Shortcake Kebabs below from Recipe By Photo

I mean they could totes be DIY…put your own kebabs together people.

Strawberry Shortcake Kabobs | Recipe By Photo And yes, it’s all in red, white and neutrals – our party colors!

Leave a Reply

